They keep it a secret… they should be locked up!

Toxic BurdenHi guys

As mentioned previously, I used to suffer terribly with acne and my little one has eczema. Luckily for me, my mother had introduced me to a brand that allowed me to save both of us from a world of discomfort and pain.

This was only possible because they taught me all about the hidden truths in the cosmetic industry… and we all need to know it!

How many of us know what is in our skincare? I mean really know! I always thought I was a fairly healthy individual, I went to the gym, walked the dog, did calanetics and fast/frozen meals were never really part of my diet. I thought that my “on and off” smoking was the most toxic part of my lifestyle! Oh boy was I wrong!

Did you know that the average woman uses 515 chemicals on her skin per day, without even knowing it? Men are not far behind either as they have become far more concerned with their appearance and “looking after themselves”.

When I found this fact out I was utterly shocked! How is this legal? How is it that the cosmetic industry are allowed to put toxic chemicals into ones skincare? It makes it very difficult to avoid!

Think about it… How many products do you use on a daily basis?

Toothpaste? Body wash? Hand wash? Shampoo? Conditioner? Shaving foam/gel? Body Lotion? Facial Lotion? Hand lotion? Hair gel/spray? etc.

I counted mine and was surprised at the number considering I have never ever seen myself as a fan of cosmetics. 16 Products and that was not including days when I had to make a bit more of an effort!

What’s more, I looked at the ingredients of my old products and googled each and every one to see what they were and how they were effecting my health! DOUBLE SHOCKER! Each one of those products contained around 20 chemicals/ harmful substances! That means I was using on average 320 chemicals per day without even knowing it!

There were a few substances that recurred in various products, so I thought I would share them with you!

Sodium lauryl sulphate – a caustic detergent useful for removing grease (commonly used in salons and garages to remove stains caused by dyes and old oil); although commonly included in personal care items (shampoos and toothpastes etc.) it can irritate skin and should not be swallowed.

The reason why the cosmetic industry use it is because it makes the products very foamy, giving the illusion that the product is going a long way.

Mineral Oil – is a bi-product of the petrochemical industry and is also known as petrolatum, petroleum jelly, liquid petroleum, paraffin oil and white mineral oil. I always say, if it starts with Petra, Petro or Para, it is likely to be mineral oil.

The reason why this is used in the cosmetic industry is that it is very expensive to dispose of environmentally, so the petrochemical industry offer it to the cosmetic industries at a very low price, to be used as a bulk filler in products, allowing them to cut down on costs and again, give the illusion that the “product” itself is going a long way.

Have you ever accidentally poured petrol on yourself before? How did it feel and how difficult was it to get off? Well, mineral oil is exactly this, so whilst the industry sell it by saying it is a barrier to prevent bad from getting in, it is also preventing moisture from getting in and preventing toxins from getting out… so, how good is it really?

Alcohol (ethanol or ethyl alcohol, denatured alcohol, methanol, isopropyl alcohol, SD alcohol, and benzyl alcohol) – I don’t think I need to explain what alcohol is!!!

The reason why the cosmetic industry use it is because it can act as a detergent or aesthetic, in order to help prevent the spread or growth of germs. However, it is one of the leading causes of dehydration and can aggravate even the most normal skin types!

Do yourself and your family a favour and look at the products you are using! Research their ingredients and keep in mind that links between cosmetic ingredients and cancer are being found more and more regularly these days!

I hope I have managed to help someone through sharing this!

Leave a Reply

